Organization

The Johann Caspar Lavater Research Foundation

Founded in 1997 by Dr. Conrad Ulrich and Prof. Dr. Alfred Schindler, the Research Foundation Johann Caspar Lavater Zurich has to coordinate and to promote the Edition and research projects to Johann Caspar Lavater, and to promote in cooperation with the Swiss National Science Foundation and private foundations. The Board of Trustees combines dedicated theologian, historian, art historian and Germanists, as well as representatives of city and Canton of Zurich. President of the Research Foundation of Johann Caspar Lavater is Prof. Dr. Heinz O. Hirzel since 2014.

In addition to the edition of the selected works of Johann Caspar Lavater (JCLW), the Research Foundation of Johann Caspar Lavater supports also attempts to the processing of lavater's letters and correspondence with individual personalities. The results of this research appear in supplementary and study books Edition. The Research Foundation has inaugurated also for the year 2001 the exhibition to Lavater's 200th anniversary of his death was shown in the Kunsthaus Zürich.

 

Project Management and Editorial Circle

The edition is organized under the "Deutsches Seminar der Universität Zürich" under the leadership of Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Horst Sitta.

Editorial members:

  • Prof. Dr. Rudolf Dellsperger (Bern)
  • Prof. Dr. Heinz O. Hirzel (Zürich)
  • Dr. Martin Ernst Hirzel (Bern)
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Naumann (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Horst Sitta (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Karl Pestalozzi (Basel)
  • Minister Dr. Martin Sauer (Wiesbaden)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Stadler (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Tröhler (Zürich)
  • Dr. Conrad Ulrich (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Horst Weigelt (Bamberg)
  • Prof. Dr. Simone Zurbuchen (Freiburg/Üe)

 

Editors

see "Editors"

Former Editors:

  • Dr. Bettina Volz-Tobler
  • Pfr. Dr. Martin Hirzel-Strasky
  • Dr. Dominik Sieber
  • Dr. Christina Reuter

Publisher

The publication of the 10 volumes of Ausgewählte Werke in historisch-kritischer Ausgabe (including the vast collection of Johann Caspar Lavater's unpublished writings, mainly found in the Central Library of Zurich) is making public a representative selection of major theological, philosophico-pedagogical, political, poetical and critical texts by Lavater. Those works have been included and edited which especially influenced the cultural, theological and intellectual history of the 18th and 19th centuries.

In collaboration with the Research Foundation and the Neue Zürcher Zeitung Publishing House, Voldemeer Editions undertook to follow, oversee and structure publication. Mr Janis Osolin is the right person to make the concept of this edition reality. This concept is to make the format of the edition visibly reflect Lavater's work. Not weighty volumes are to be produced, but an edition that is analagous with the octavo format of the 18th century. What is being put on the market is a high-class aesthetic edition.

Mr Janis Osolin founded his own independent publishing house, Voldemeer Editions Ltd., in 1998 after working for Stroemfeld Publishing Basle. For the present edition of Ausgewählte Werke in historisch-kritischer Ausgabe, Voldemeer Editions is collaborating with the Neue Zürcher Zeitung Publishing House.

Organisation

Forschungsstiftung Johann Caspar Lavater Zürich

Die 1997 von Dr. Conrad Ulrich und Prof. Dr. Alfred Schindler gegründete Forschungs-Stiftung Johann Caspar Lavater Zürich hat zum Ziel, die Editions- und Forschungsprojekte zu Johann Caspar Lavater zu koordinieren und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und privaten Stiftungen nach Möglichkeit auch finanziell zu fördern. Der Stiftungsrat vereinigt ausgewiesene Theologen, Historiker, Kunsthistoriker und Germanisten sowie Vertreter von Stadt und Kanton Zürich. Präsident der Forschungsstiftung Johann Caspar Lavater ist seit 2014 Prof. Dr. Heinz O. Hirzel.

Neben der Edition der ausgewählten Werke Johann Caspar Lavater (JCLW) unterstützt die Forschungsstiftung Johann Caspar Lavater auch Bestrebungen zur Bearbeitung von Lavaters Autographen und Korrespondenzen mit einzelnen Persönlichkeiten. Die Ergebnisse dieser Forschungsarbeiten erscheinen in Ergänzungs- und Studienbänden zur Edition. Die Forschungsstiftung hat zudem für das Jahr 2001 die Ausstellung zu Lavaters 200. Todestag "Johann Caspar Lavater – das Antlitz. Eine Obsession" inauguriert, die im Kunsthaus Zürich gezeigt wurde.

 

Projektleitung und Herausgeberkreis

Das Editionsprojekt ist dem Deutschen Seminar der Universität Zürich unter der Leitung von Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Horst Sitta angegliedert.

Die wissenschaftliche Begleitung wird durch einen Herausgeberkreis wahrgenommen. Diesem gehören an:

  • Prof. Dr. Rudolf Dellsperger (Bern)
  • Prof. Dr. Heinz O. Hirzel (Zürich)
  • Dr. Martin Ernst Hirzel (Bern)
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Naumann (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Horst Sitta (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Karl Pestalozzi (Basel)
  • Minister Dr. Martin Sauer (Wiesbaden)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Stadler (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Tröhler (Zürich)
  • Dr. Conrad Ulrich (Zürich)
  • Prof. Dr. Horst Weigelt (Bamberg)
  • Prof. Dr. Simone Zurbuchen (Freiburg/Üe)

 

Editorinnen und Editoren

s. unter "Mitarbeitende"

Ehemalige Editorinnen und Editoren:

  • Dr. Bettina Volz-Tobler
  • Pfr. Dr. Martin Hirzel-Strasky
  • Dr. Dominik Sieber
  • Dr. Christina Reuter

 

Verlag

Die auf 10 Bände angelegten Ausgewählten Werke in historisch-kritscher Ausgabe veröffentlichen (unter Einbezug des umfangreichen, zum grössten Teil in der Zentralbibliothek Zürich deponierten Nachlasses Johann Caspar Lavaters) eine repräsentative Auswahl tragender theologischer, philosophisch-pädagogischer, politischer, poetischer und kritischer Schriften Lavaters. Dabei werden insbesondere diejenigen Werke berücksichtigt und ediert, welche die Kultur-, Theologie- und Geistesgeschichte des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts in besonderer Weise beeinflusst haben.

Die Betreuung und Gestaltung in Zusammenarbeit mit der Forschungsstiftung Johann Caspar Lavater und dem Verlag Neue Zürcher Zeitung übernahm die Edition Voldemeer Zürich. In der Person von Herrn Janis Osolin wurde jemand gefunden, der die Idee dieser Edition auch umzusetzen versteht. Diese ist, das Werk Lavaters auch im Format evident zu machen, was heisst, dass nicht schwere Bücher produziert werden, sondern eine dem Oktavformat des 18. Jahrhunderts analoge, auch ästhetisch hochwertige Edition auf den Markt gebracht wird.

Ursprünglich für den Stroemfeld-Verlag Basel tätig, machte sich Herr Janis Osolin 1998 selbständig und gründete seinen eigenen Verlag, die Edition Voldemeer AG in Zürich. In der vorliegenden Edition der Ausgewählten Werke in historisch-kritischer Ausgabe arbeitet die Edition Voldemeer mit dem Verlag Neue Zürcher Zeitung zusammen.